Alternate Icons for Calibre

UPDATE: this post is obsolete! Take a look at the new one.

The latest version of Calibre (0.7.10) has a feature that lets you customize the icons on the application.

I was not much a fan of the existing icons (both old and new) so I jumped at the opportunity to create a quick re-theme of the application to let it fit a bit better in my linux Gnome desktop.

Here is a preview (click to see fullsize):
Preview of the 'renatoram' Calibre icon theme.

You can download the 0.2 package (updated) here.
(brief install instructions are included)

I might update the package in the future to further polish Calibre’s icons, but this is a good start.

–UPDATE–
It turns out I forgot the Sync icon, so I went on and updated the package right away. Now the link points to the updated 0.2 version.

–UPDATE–
Thanks to Tim (as you can see in the comments) there is now an updated 0.3 version! Grab it here.
You’ll find the changelog below in the comments.

–UPDATE–

This is all obsolete info! Please, check my new version of the package in this more recent post.

Author: renatoram

sysadmin, rpg player, gunpla modeler, avid reader... yeah, your average geek :)

8 thoughts on “Alternate Icons for Calibre”

  1. Thank you for sharing 🙂

    I was trying to find an alternative to Calibre, just because the standard GUI left something to be desired.

  2. The icon format changed to png in version 0.7.18. If you could change the icons to png i would be very thankful.

    1. Thanks for the heads-up: since I’m using the icons myself I’ll probably do it, yes. Weird choice, though: png icons need to be done ad a specific resolution, svg don’t. Oh well, I’ll see.

      1. Please do, your icons are much cuter and far more intelligible than the original ones! thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. The link seems to be down for me. I took the liberty of unofficially repackaging the images. :]
    The .zip file is hosted on my personal Dropbox share, so your readers don’t have to worry about annoying ads or download retardation.

    -Changes in 0.3
    –moved all .svg icons from “/resources/images” to folder “/originals”
    –added .png icons to “/resources/images”
    –updated “/README.txt” and “/INSTALL.txt”
    –replaced the screenshot with an English version.

    http://is.gd/kkkk5D

Comments are closed.